About Ikebana - Moribana

Moribana shares the emphasis on the natural beauty and characteristics of flowers and plants with the more traditional Rikka and Shoka styles.  However, Moribana, along with Nageire, are arranged much more freely.
Moribana is the simplest style of all Ikebana styles, therefore most suitable for beginners.
Moribana means "piling up flowers".  This creates beautiful volume which can be viewed from three sides.  Vases for Moribana are usually wide mouthed and often flat. Moribana Shatai
There are three Yakueda, called Shin, Soe and Tai. Additional stems or flowers called Ashirai are required to complete the arrangement.
Moribana Peach Generally Shin’s height is about one and a half times the vase’s diameter plus the height of the vase. Soe is about three quarters of the Shin and Tai is about a half.

Unlike Shoka style, these Yakueda have no particular meaning in Moribana.

There are three sub-styles of Moribana, which are determined by the angle of the Shin. These are called:
Chokutai (upright) ; Shatai (slanting); Suitai (cascading)

Moribana Chokutai

Moribana Shatai

Moribana Suitai

Back to Top
© Copyright Ikebana by Junko
All rights reserved

About Junko
About Ikebana
Lessons & Classes
Photo Galleries
Ikebana for Offices
Contact Us
Ikebana Shop


About Ikebana